Scholarships & Awards

Medal for Excellence in Beginning Teaching

The medal for Excellence in Beginning Teaching (formerly the Ruth Probert Medal) is awarded to a Bachelor of Education/Master of Teaching graduating student who demonstrates exemplary performance in their final year professional experience. 

The criteria for nomination of this award include:

  • demonstration of exemplary professional conduct and qualities, including collaborative working relationships and extra-curricular commitment;
  • strong knowledge of relevant curriculum areas;
  • competence in short and long term curriculum planning, based on knowledge of student learning, and on principles of inclusivity and social justice;
  • the identification and implementation of differentiated teaching strategies while sustaining a quality learning programme for an extended period;
  • high level competence in the assessment, recording and reporting of student learning;
  • the ability to maintain a positive climate for learning, to develop strong relationships and to apply effective classroom management strategies;
  • demonstration of reflective practice and the ability to analyse teaching effectiveness, in order to improve their professional competence.

Nomination Procedure

Pre-service teachers may be nominated for the award by any two of the following:

  • A cooperating teacher
  • The principal/director or school/site coordinator
  • The university liaison

The call for nominations will be sent to schools and sites as the final Professional Experience is nearing its conclusion.

Medal for Excellence in Beginning Teaching Information Document:

  Medal for Excellence (DOCX 50KB)

Medal for Excellence in Beginning Teaching Nomination Form:

  Medal for Excellence Nomination Form (DOCX 32KB)

 Congratulations to the following students who were awarded the Medal for Excellence in Beginning Teaching 2017:


Chloe Virgin


Jordan Zeelie

Special Education



Jacqueline Cook
Middle and Secondary




Kimberly Smith
Early Childhood

(no photo)



Congratulations to the following students who were awarded the Ruth Probert Memorial Medal in 2016:

 Melissa Corbett
Early Childhood


Emma Aucote & Jennifer Chan
Middle and Secondary 



Jane Daw



Kaitlyn Hawking
Special Education


Early Childhood Australia Prize

ECA is the peak Australian Early Childhood body for early childhood educators. The South Australian branch of the Association offers an Individual membership for a Flinders graduate who has made a significant contribution to the early childhood field.

Kate Ryan, Director of Halifax Children's Centre and national board member of Early Childhood Australia (ECA) presented Joanna Pearce with the inaugural ECA prize on March 3rd, 2016.

 Congratulations to Tayla Dwyer, who was awarded the Early Childhood Australia Prize in 2017:



Congratulations to Joanna Pearce, who was awarded the Early Childhood Australia Prize in 2016:

Joanna Pearce
Early Childhood