Australian Association of Writing Programs Conference 2017

The 22nd annual conference of the AAWP will continue the tradition of creative writers engaging with, responding to, and inspiring change through writing. In recent years, writers have used fiction, non-fiction, and hybrid forms as vehicles to understand, explain, and rationalise social changes; to observe, communicate, and record moments of significant change; to commemorate or lament personal and global changes. We write from positions of hope, anticipation, or dread, trying to make sense of an ever-changing world.

The AAWP Conference

AAWP was established at the inaugural conference in 1996. It now holds annual conferences at campuses around Australasia. The annual conference is the most important forum in Australia for the discussion of all aspects of teaching creative and professional writing and for debating current theories on creativity and writing.

Announcing the Keynote Speakers



Charlotte Wood

The Australian newspaper has described Charlotte Wood as "one of our most original and provocative writers.”  She is the author of five novels and two books of non-fiction. Her latest novel, The Natural Way of Things, won the 2016 Stella Prize, the 2016 Indie Book of the Year and Novel of the Year, and was joint winner of the Prime Minister's Literary Award for Fiction.  In 2016 Charlotte was named the Charles Perkins Centre's inaugural Writer in Residence at the University of Sydney. 

Wood has a background in journalism, and her non-fiction essays and articles have appeared in venues including The Guardian, the Sydney Morning Herald, the Sydney Review of Books, Slow Living, Good Weekend and The Saturday Paper.





James Bradley

James Bradley is a Sydney-based novelist and critic. His novels include Wreck, The Resurrectionist, and Clade have won or been shortlisted for a number of major Australian literary awards, including the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards, the Age Fiction Book of the Year, the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book, and the Aurealis Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. His latest novel, The Silent Invasion, was published in 2017.

Bradley’s reviews have appeared in The Times Literary Supplement, The Guardian, The Washington Post, The Australian Literary Review, Australian Book Review, The Monthly, Locus, The New York Review of Science Fiction, Griffith Review, Meanjin, Heat, The Weekend Australian, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age. In 2012 he was awarded the Pascall Prize for Criticism and was named Australian Critic of the Year.