What our recent graduates have been up to

2016 Graduate News


Congratulations to our current student Benjamin van Caspel who is a finalist in the Formula 1 Connectivity Innovation Prize. Benjamin has won a trip to Austin Texas based on his Augmented Reality design. The next round is to pick the winner of the $50.000 US prize.


Congratulations to our Flinders graduates and current students who were nominated for the following South Australian Screen Awards:

Stephen Banham (2007) director of Heaps Good Hotel in Best Short Film, Best Comedy and Best writer categories;

Marcus McKenzie (2010) director of Crew Cut in Best Feature film;

Aaron Schuppan (2005), director of The Knife – Nakatomi, is nominated in the Best Music Video and DOP/ Cinematography categories;

Matt Vesely (2007) director of My Best Friend is stuck on the Ceiling in Best Short Film, Best Comedy and Best Writer categories.

Current students Jordy Pollack, director, and Lucy Gale, producer, are nominated in the Best Drama category for Jordy’s 2015 Honours film, A Short Film About Kissing.

Sam Twidale is nominated in the DOP/ cinematography category, for his work on Allie, as is Vivyan Madigan (2009) for Lost – The October Solution.
Other nominations include Jeremy Nicholas in Best Director for AllieDaniel Principe (2003) for Best Editor on Lost – The October Solution, Kaiit Moseby (2015)  Best Production Design for A Short Film about Kissing, and Tamara Hardman for Best Sound Design, Buying Time (directed by current student Indianna Bell).

In Other news:
Congratulations to Carly Turner (2006) who is currently working in Los Angeles with feature film editor John Gilbert on Mel Gibson's latest film, Hacksaw Ridge. BCA Screen Graduate Morgan Wright (2015) and partners have opened a studio as part of the development of their company Repeater Productions, follow this link for full article.

After five years at Theatre Works in Melbourne, Daniel Clarke (1999) is now the new programmer at Arts Centre Melbourne and has won the prestigious Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award Facilitator Prize this year — a $25,000 reward for his tireless commitment to the arts.
Follow this link for full article.


Jack Sheridan (BA Hons Screen 1999) has been nominated for a 2016 Australian Directors Guild award for his short film, Injury Time.


ABC has announced a joint investment with SAFC to produce three comedies and two documentaries from South Australia as 6×5 minute episodes for iview.

ABC Director of Television, Richard Finlayson said: “Uncovering and developing these original ideas from South Australian creative talent, and being able to share them with a national audience on ABC iview, is very exciting.”

We are proud that two of the projects have our graduates in key creative roles.

Producer: Kirsty Stark and directors Simon Williams and Brendon Skinner have been funded for their project Goober.

Writer/Director Stephen Banham has also been funded for Almost Midnight.
Follow this link for the full article.


Student and Graduate Success Stories

Flinders University has many graduates who have gone on to make their mark in the world of film, theatre, TV, and digital media.  Among the most well-known is Scott Hicks, who won an Academy Award for his film Shine, but many other exceptional feature film and television directors and producers have had their start at Flinders, including Matt Bate, Sandy Cameron, Sophie Hyde, Bryan Mason, Matt Cormack, Bec Summerton, Granaz Moussavi, Dario Russo, Kirsty Stark, and Hugh Sullivan. Among our graduates are also many successful cinematographers, sound designers and editors like Nima Nabili Rad, James Currie, Sean Lahiff, and Belinda Trimboli, to name only a few.


See Past Success Stories