A network of trained Equal Opportunity Contact Officers are located in all areas of the University.

Equal Opportunity Contact Officers receive regular training, guidance and support in the EO Grievance Procedures and informal complaints handling by the Manager, Equal Opportunity and Diversity.

The role of the Equal Opportunity Contact Officers is to provide confidential support and information to people involved in a complaint of discrimination, harassment, sexual harassment or bullying.

What do Equal Opportunity Contact Officers do?

Listen to staff and students at Flinders University who believe they are experiencing or who have been accused of discrimination, harassment or bullying and inform them on options available to resolve the matter.

When requested, support individuals throughout the resolution process. This may include discussing with the individual what they may wish to say or writing to the other person/s; accompanying the individual to speak to the other person/s; or accompanying the individual to seek guidance and/or assistance from appropriate persons or bodies within the University.

Promote behaviours that are respectful and inclusive in the Contact Officer's area of work by being a role model for the standards of behaviour expected of members of the University community.

Be a source of up-to-date knowledge of the University's Equal Opportunity policies.

Provide information to the Equal Opportunity Unit on issues in the Contact Officer's area of work related to discrimination, harassment and bullying.

Who are the Equal Opportunity Contact Officers?

Name Location Phone No. Email address
Cathy Abbott Biological Sciences 12078 cathy.abbott
Alan Branford Computer Science, Eng & Math 12036 alan.branford
Rhain Buth Flinders Law School 15293 rhain.buth
Didy Button Nursing & Midwifery 13312 didy.button
Vanessa Dorshorst Information Technology Services 15551 Vanessa.dorshorst
Kate Douglas English, Creative Writing and Australian Studies 12292 kate.douglas
Anne Hayes  Student Equal Opportunity Advisor  12118  anne.hayes
David Hobbs Computer Science, Eng & Math 13167 david.hobbs
Rob Hunter School of Environment 15440 rob.hunter
Sharon Lawn Psychiatry/Margaret Tobin Centre 8404 2321 Sharon Lawn
Meredith Legg Faculty of Health Science/ Repatriation General Hospital 7221 8234 meredith.legg
Sandra Marshall Biological Sciences 12132 sandra.marshall
Andy Messner Faculty of Health Science/ Repatriation General Hospital 7221 8209 andy.messner
Sonia Mowbray Flinders Medical Centre 466362 sonia.mowbray
Chris O'Grady Manager, Student Engagement 12658 chris.ogrady
Lisa O'Neill Equal Opportunity and Diversity 13735 lisa.oneill
Neil Piller Flinders Medical Centre 4-64711 neil.piller
Sophie Pointer Mark Oliphant Building 17602 Sophie.pointer
Mandy Price Yunggorendi 15627 mandy.price
Sherry Randhawa Computer Science, Eng & Math 15052 sherry.randhawa
Courtney Ryder School of Medicine/Flinders Public Health 18602 courtney.ryder
Heidi Savilla Law Library 12577 heidi.savilla
Melissa Suckley Flinders Living (Village) 16193 melissa.suckley
Trudy-Ann Sweeney Education 13941 trudy.sweeney
Paul Tosch Flinders Living (Hall) 16379 paul.tosch
Katrina van der Horst  Flinders Living (Office) 16024 katrina.vanderhorst 
Paula Williams Disability Liaison Officer 12943 paula.williams
Kate Wood School of Medicine/School Resources Office 464541 kate.wood
Lily Xiao School of Nursing & Midwifery 13419 lily.xiao