The Ally Network is an initiative designed to enhance University culture by creating a more welcoming and inclusive environment for members of the Flinders community who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, and queer (LGBTIQ).

Why have an Ally network at Flinders?
What is an Ally?
What an Ally is not
What to expect from an Ally
Expectations of an Ally
Becoming an Ally
Contact an Ally

 

Patronage of Ally Network

Professor Rob Saint has become the third patron of the Ally Network.  He follows on from the inaugural Patron, Joan Cooper, then Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), and the previous Vice-Chancellor, Michael Barber.

  

Why have an Ally Network at Flinders?

Recent Australian research and anecdotal evidence shows that prejudicial behaviours based on sexuality frequently occur in schools and tertiary institutions, including Flinders University. This is despite the existence of anti-discrimination legislation and policies. A visible presence of Allies on campus goes some way in creating a safer and more welcoming environment for both new and current members of the Flinders community who do not identify as heterosexual by:

  • Proactively addressing prejudicial behaviours and language
  • Providing a safe place for people to talk about issues related to sexuality and/or gender identity
  • Educating people about issues related to sexuality and/or gender identity 

What is an Ally?

Allies are staff and students who are knowledgeable in, receptive to and understanding of LGBTIQ issues.

Allies provide a safe place to talk for members of the Flinders community who seek support in a confidential environment.

Allies act as a contact point for staff or students and are able to discuss LGBTIQ issues in essays, curriculum, finding information, resources, support, coming out and other life issues.

Allies are representative of the entire Flinders community and are therefore not identified on the basis of their sexuality.

What an Ally is NOT

An Ally is not: 

  • someone with ready-made answers
  • necessarily a counsellor, nor necessarily trained to deal with crisis situations
  • necessarily able to provide assistance with the grievance process associated with harassment or discrimination.

The Equal Opportunity Contact Officers are available to provide this.

What to expect from an Ally

  • An open, accepting attitude
  • To be listened to, to be understood and be able to explore the issues
  • Confidentiality
  • A wide variety of referral avenues both on and off campus

Expectations of an Ally

  • Completion of essential training and interview process.
  • Act as a role model for the University in terms of their language and behaviour.
  • Proactively addressing behaviours considered prejudicial towards sexual diversity.
  • Knowing when to refer on / seek further assistance.
  • Attending occasional Ally meetings and information sessions on various issues.

Becoming an Ally

Because most people grow up in a world that is predominantly heterosexual, our beliefs, attitudes and behaviours are often shaped by this, with assumptions made and entrenched in our culture. However this ‘one size fits all’ model does not necessarily accommodate LGBTIQ people. The process of alliance to LGBTIQ people and LGBTIQ issues can take time. For this reason, awareness training and information sessions that examine heterosexist assumptions are an essential part of becoming an Ally. 

All Allies are subject to a screening process and training. Undertaking the training does not necessarily lead to becoming an Ally and you may decide the role is not one you feel comfortable with and so choose not to become an Ally.

If you are interested in becoming an Ally, please email equal.opportunity@flinders.edu.au or contact (08) 8201 3735.

Contact an Ally

Look for an official Ally sign on an office door.

Official ALLY door sign

Contact details

 

Name College/Unit/Organisation Email
Yarrow Andrew (Dr) Education yarrow.andrew@flinders.edu.au
Benjamin Authers (Dr) Law benjamin.authers@flinders.edu.au
Barbara Baird (Assoc Prof) Women's Studies barbara.baird@flinders.edu.au
Gill Blacket(Ms) Library gill.blacket@flinders.edu.au
Natalia Sanjuan Bornay (Dr) Student Learning Centre natalia.bornay@flinders.edu.au
Heather Brook (Dr) Women's Studies heather.brook@flinders.edu.au
Fiona Butcher Sturt Library fiona.butcher@flinders.edu.au
Lauren Butterworth Student Learning Centre lauren.butterworth@flinders.edu.au
Monica Cations School of Health Sciences monica.cations@flinders.edu.au
Toni Crisci (Ms) Health, Counselling and Disability toni.crisci@flinders.edu.au

Margaret Davies (Professor)

Law margaret.davies@flinders.edu.au
Vanessa Dorshorst (Ms) Digital Media Services   vanessa.dorshorst@flinders.edu.au
Kate Douglas (Associate Professor) English, Creative Writing and Australian Studies kate.douglas@flinders.edu.au
Courtney Edlin School of Education courtney.edlin@flinders.edu.au
Julia Erhart (Dr)  Screen and Media julia.erhart@flinders.edu.au 
Konrad Gawlik Health, Counselling and Disability konrad.gawlik@flinders.edu.au
Steffi Graff (Ms) Student, Biological Sciences graf0016@flinders.edu.au
Jessie Gunson (Dr) Health Sciences jessie.gunson@flinders.edu.au
Matt Heard College of Science and Engineering matt.heard@flinders.edu.au
Mary Heath (Assoc Prof) Law mary.heath@flinders.edu.au
Grace Hensel Student Council hens0063@flinders.edu.au
Susan Heyes (Ms) School of Nursing and Midwifery susan.heyes@flinders.edu.au
Khristin Highet (Dr) Health, Counselling and Disability khristin.highet@flinders.edu.au
Vanessa Hounslow Health, Counselling and Disability vanessa.hounslow@flinders.edu.au
Maureen Howland Oasis Community Centre maureen.howland@flinders.edu.au
Maggie Ivanova (Dr) School of Humanities and Creative Arts maggie.ivanova@flinders.edu.au
Tiffany Lavis (Dr) Student Learning Centre tiffany.lavis@flinders.edu.au
Tristan Kennedy (Mr) Social and Policy Studies  tristan.kennedy@flinders.edu.au
Heath Kerley Yunggorendi heath.kerley@flinders.edu.au 
Tristan Kilmartin Student Learning Centre tristan.kilmartin@flinders.edu.au
Deb King (Associate Professor) National Institute of Labour Studies deb.king@flinders.edu.au
Lindsay Krassnitzer School of Health Sciences, Sturt lindsay.krassnitzer@flinders.edu.au
Anthony Langlois (Associate Prof) School of International Studies anthony.langlois@flinders.edu.au
David Lim (Dr) Flinders Rural Health, Victor Harbor david.lim@flinders.edu.au
Emma Mackenzie Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences emma.mackenzie@flinders.edu.au
Rachel Manning Professional Development Unit rachel.manning@flinders.edu.au
Bradley Martin Flinders Living mart0288@flinders.edu.au
Liz McNeill (Ms) School of Nursing and Midwifery liz.mcneill@flinders.edu.au
Keith Miller (Dr) School of Social and Policy Studies keith.miller@flinders.edu.au 
Amanda Muller College of Nursing and Health Sciences amanda.muller@flinders.edu.au
Donna Neilson (Ms) Enrolment Services, Student Centre donna.neilson@flinders.edu.au
Nathan O'Brien Science and Engineering nathan.obrien@flinders.edu.au
Chris O’Grady (Mr) Manager, Student Engagement chris.ogrady@flinders.edu.au
Lisa O'Neill (Ms) Equal Opportunity and Diversity lisa.oneill@flinders.edu.au
Donald Pate (Professor) Archaeology donald.pate@flinders.edu.au
Sophie Pointer (Dr) School of Medicine, Research Centre for Injury Studies sophie.pointer@flinders.edu.au
Kirsten Read Health, Counselling and Disability kirsten.read@flinders.edu.au
Damien Riggs (Dr) SocialSciences damien.riggs@flinders.edu.au
Andrea Rohde (Ms) Flinders Living andrea.rohde@flinders.edu.au
Nina Sivertsen (Ms) School of Nursing and Midwifery nina.sivertsen@flinders.edu.au
Regina Sliuzas

Student Learning Centre

regina.sliuzas@flinders.edu.au
Ben Smith

Oasis Community Centre; Health, Counselling and Disability

 b.smith@flinders.edu.au
Trudy Sweeney (Dr) School of Education trudy.sweeney@flinders.edu.au
Paul Tait School of Health Sciences, Repatriation General Hospital paul.tait@flinders.edu.au
Jan Thompson (Ms) School of Nursing and Midwifery jan.thompson@flinders.edu.au
Rossi von der Borch (Dr) Humanities rosslyn.vonderborch@flinders.edu.au 
Zoë Walter Health, Counselling and Disability zoe.walter@flinders.edu.au
Isobel Walter-Smith Information Technology Services isobel.waltersmith@flinders.edu.au
Nicola Williams Health, Counselling and Disability nicola.williams@flinders.edu.au
Tiffany Winn Student Learning Centre tiffany.winn@flinders.edu.au
Jackie Wurm (Ms) Centre for Innovation in Learning and Teaching jackie.wurm@flinders.edu.au
Julie Zanker (Ms) Disability and Community Inclusion  julie.zanker@flinders.edu.au