Recipients of the Convocation Medal are listed by year below. Positions of recipients shown are extant at the time the Medals were awarded.


Mr Junling Liu

Cofounder and Chief Executive Officer of Chinese online retailer, Yihaodian

BTeach MIntBusAdmin

Outstanding contribution, internationally, in the areas of leadership and the advancement of professional practice in on-line retailing.



Professor Stephen Buckman AM

BSc BSc(Hons) PhD

School Director, Atomic and Molecular Physics Laboratory, Australian National University and Research Director, Centre for Antimatter - Matter Studies

Outstanding and sustained leadership and contributions locally, nationally and internationally in the field of Antimatter – Matter interactions.


Dr Craig Roberts

BSc, BSc (Hons), PhD PhysSc

Senior Scientist and Leader of the Theory Group, Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois, USA

Outstanding leadership and contributions internationally in Hadron Physics.


Professor Terence Tao  

BSc, BSc (Hons), MSc Flin, PhD Princeton

Department of Mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

Outstanding achievement and contribution internationally to mathematics.

View acceptance video message.


Dr Michael Fenech  

PhD Flin

Senior Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO Human Nutrition, Adelaide

Outstanding leadership in, and contribution to, the international field of environmental health science.


Ms Anne Morris

BNgEd Sturt CAE, MPHC Flin

International humanitarian worker.

Outstanding leadership in, and contribution to, humanitarian work in Africa and the Middle East.

Professor David Nunan

PhD Flin

Chair Professor of Applied Linguistics and Director of the English Centre, the University of Hong Kong,; President, and Dean of the Graduate School of Education, Anaheim University, California.

Outstanding achievement and contribution internationally to the profession of Teaching of English as a Second Language.

View the presentation ceremony.


Mr Neil Mules AO

BA Hons Humanities GradDipEd Flin

Australian Ambassador to Mexico.

Excellent contribution to and outstanding achievement in diplomacy on behalf of Australia.

View the presentation ceremony is available to be viewed.


Ms Bernadette McMenamin AO

BA SocSc Flin
Founder, Child Wise Ltd.

Outstanding achievement in child protection and service to the community.

Professor Philip Bourne

BSc BSc Hons PhD Flin

Department of Pharmacology at the University of California San Diego.

Director of Integrative Biosciences at the San Diego Supercomputer Center.

Outstanding leadership in the advancement of professional practice in Science.


Ms Margy Burn

BA Flin DipLibSt Adel

Assistant Director-General, Australian Collections and Reader Services, National Library of Australia, Canberra.

Dr Peter Mansfield


Medical Practitioner, campaigner against inappropriate marketing of pharmaceuticals.


Ms Noni Hazlehurst AM

BA Flin

Actor, television host, children's issues and environmental activist.

Mr Mario Andreacchio

BA Flin

Film producer, director, screenwriter.

Listen to the presentation ceremony.


Ms Mem Fox AM

DipT (Drama) Rose Bruford College London BA BEd Flin GradDip (Language Arts)UniSA DLitt (honoris causa)Woll

Author and educator.

Mr John Moriarty AM

BA Flin DUniv UniSA

Chairman, Jumbana Pty Ltd.


Professor Leanna Read

BSc Hons Adel PhD Flin

CEO, CRC for Tissue Growth and Repair.

Dr Rodney Watkins

BAppSc MAppSc Melb LOSc VCOP DIC London PhD Flin

CEO Scan Optics Pty Ltd.


Ms Susan Tanner

BA (Hons) Flin

Australian Ambassador to Chile.


Dr Christopher Baggoley

BSocAdmin BMBS Flin

Director, Emergency Medicine, Flinders Medical Centre and Ashford Hospital.

Ms Gale Edwards

BA Flin BEd Adel Director's Course NIDA

International Theatre Director.


Professor Carl Bridge

BA Syd PhD Flin

Head, Sir Robert Menzies Centre for Australian Studies, University of London.


Associate Professor Timothy Roberts

BSc Adel PhD Flin

Biological Sciences, The University of Newcastle.


Dr Don Russell


Australian Ambassador to the United States of America.


Professor Rodney Brooks

BSc (Hons) MSc Flin PhD Stanf

Head, Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


Professor Anwar Waqar

MSc Punj PhD Flin

Chairman, Faculty of Biochemistry, Aga Khan University, Pakistan.


Dr Joseph Smith

BA MA Flin PhD Adel

QE II Fellow in Philosophy.


Professor Anthony Thomas

PhD Flin DSc Adel FAA

Elder Professor of Physics, The University of Adelaide.