RHD Contact Officers: Conciliation and Arbitration Process

3.1 Contact Officer
In consultation with the Deans of the relevant Schools and the postgraduate student members of the Higher Degrees Committee in a faculty, each Executive Dean of the Faculty shall appoint an appropriate number of members of the academic staff of the faculty as Contact Officers to provide the relevant parties with access to advice and support, and the means to achieve resolution of matters.

Contact Officers will be selected on the basis that they can demonstrate effective interpersonal skills and a good level of understanding of the administration of higher degree matters and the operation of these procedures; and have appropriate experience in supervising the research of higher degree students. It is the responsibility of Contact Officers to act in accordance with these procedures to: 

  • provide advice to students and staff about the University's policies and procedures for the administration of research higher degrees;
  • provide support to students and staff in relation to the Conciliation and Arbitration Procedures Relating to Supervised Higher Degree Research;
  • provide a first point of contact to enable the parties to resolve a matter of concern in accordance with Stage 1 of the procedures outlined in Section 5 below;
  • refer a candidate to a Conciliator, if the parties are unable to resolve a matter.

Further policy information can be found at Appendix G: Conciliation and Arbitration Procedures relating to Supervised Higher Degree Research, especially Section 3.1

RHD candidates can choose Contact Officers from Schools and Faculties other than their own.

The candidate should approach one of the following Contact Officers. Contact Officers shall provide advice and support to the candidate and make all reasonable attempts to assist the candidate to resolve the matter. The Contact Officer may consult the Chair of the Faculty Research Higher Degrees Committee. If the matter is not resolved at this stage the candidate may seek resolution by conciliation through the Manager of the Equal Opportunity Unit, Lisa O’Neill.


Contact Officers

Rhain Buth – Flinders Law School    P. 8201 5293
Leigh Burrows - Education P. 8201 3022
 Karen Lower – Medicine   P. 8204 4105
 Sheila Lennon – Health Sciences  P. 8201 8284
 Christopher Barton – Health Sciences   P. 8201 5770
 Ann Harrington – Nursing & Midwifery  P. 8201 3483
 Sonia Kleindorfer - Biological Sciences     P. 8201 5232
 Mike Schwarz – Biological Sciences  P. 8201 3729
 Joe Shapter – Chemical and Physical Sciences   P. 8201 2005
 Okke Batelaan – Environment       P. 8201 2288
 Murk Bottema – Computer Science, Engineering and
 P. 8201 3652
 Michael Gradisar – School of Psychology  P. 8201 2324
 Catherine Kevin – International Studies  P. 8201 5553


Research Integrity Advisors

In compliance with the Code, the University has appointed Research Integrity Advisors to advise University staff and students on all matters relating to research integrity, the Code, and relevant University policies.

These advisors also act as potential contacts for any staff member or student wanting to make, or considering making, an allegation of research misconduct.

Current Research Integrity Advisors can be found here.