School of Medicine about us banner

Our School of Medicine




The Flinders University School of Medicine is a place where students and staff thrive in a culture of clinical excellence, world renowned educational programs, and inspiring research that makes a difference to the way we live.

Our main campus is situated in Adelaide, South Australia and co-located within Flinders Medical Centre, a combined tertiary teaching hospital and medical school.

Professor Paul Worley
Dean, School of Medicine We have a significant and expanding rural and remote presence with clinical training and research activities in areas of South Australia and the Northern Territory.

Our school is actively engaged with civic leaders, local communities, clinicians and health services to create a sustainable high quality health professional workforce and improve the health and wellbeing of our society.

Professor Paul Worley
Dean, School of Medicine


Our vision

Local wellbeing. Global influence.

By 2018 we aim to be the medical school of first choice in Australia’s central economic corridor, and connected via Asia to the world. We will be:

  • recognised globally for our socially accountable work with the underserved, particularly in rural, remote and Indigenous communities
  • vibrantly embedded in high quality health services, utilizing advanced internet-based connectivity, across a 3,500km north-south span
  • organised into inspiring translational research and teaching teams of distinguished scholars and students actively contributing to the current and future knowledge and technology explosion, and leveraging the links from theoretical to basic science through clinical to community and population health, influencing education, then driving change in practice and policy
  • enhancing the lives of our staff and students, and building sustainable social, economic, and intellectual capital of the communities we serve.

Read more: School of Medicine Vision Statement (PDF 87KB)


Academic units & specialty groups

The School of Medicine is one of three schools in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. We are organised around five academic units.