Header image 1Header image 2Header image 3Header image 4Header image 5

The CNS Executive Committee


The Centre for Neuroscience has a Convenor, an Executive of 5-10 and 1-2 Student Representatives.


Each year (early December) at the Annual General Meeting, elections are held for Members who are interested in being apart of the CNS Executive. Once Members have been elected, these elected individuals form the CNS Executive Committee. This Committee then elects a Convenor, from its ranks. The term of office for the Convenor and Executive positions is two years, while the term of the Student Representative(s) is one year. Administrative support is not currently available, due to a University-wide restructure of professional staff. All enquiries should be directed to members of the Executive.


The Executive meets once a month to discuss and make decisions on seminar speakers, funding applications, student support, collaborative opportunities and members' issues and suggestions. The Convenor is responsible for governing the centre's finances, effective representation at key events, delegating key roles and the implementation of strategic plans. The Student Rep(s) is responsible for maintaining our social presence, encouraging student involvement and bringing student issues and ideas to the attention of the Executive.


If a Member would like to submit an issue or idea to the CNS Executive, they can do so anytime throughout the year and the item will be added to the agenda of the next CNS Exec Meeting. All items should be emailed to the CNS Convenor, Rainer Haberberger (cns@flinders.edu.au). The Member will be notified in writing of the outcome of the meeting, as soon as possible after the meeting's conclusion.


Current Committee Members
Prof Rainer Viktor Haberberger

Convenor, CNS Executive Committee 2012-2019

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2006-2011

Head, Pain & Pulmonary Neurobiology Laboratory


Dr Mary-Louise Rogers

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2011-2018

Head, MND & Neurotrophic Research Laboratory


Assoc Prof Vladimir Zagorodnyuk

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2012-2019

Head, Urogenital Laboratory


Dr Yoichiro (YoYo) Otsuka
(Alternative spelling: Youichirou Ootsuka)

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2014-2019

Head, Integrative Neuroscience Laboratory


Prof Briony Forbes

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2015-2018

Head, Proteins in Metabolism & Cancer Laboratory


Dr Shohreh Majd

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2017-2018

Head, Neuronal Injury & Repair (NIR) Laboratory


Assoc Prof Stuart Brierley

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2018-2019

Head, VIPER Group


Prof Peter Catcheside

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2018-2019

Head, AISH Physiology Research Group


Dr Sebastian Doeltgen

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2018-2019

Head, Swallowing Neuro-Rehabilitation Research Laboratory


Dr Dusan Matusica

Member, CNS Executive Committee 2018-2019

Investigator, Pain & Pulmonary Neurobiology Laboratory


Ashley Goodman

Student Representative, CNS Executive Committee 2018

Undergraduate Student


Lauren Jones

Student Representative, CNS Executive Committee 2018

PhD Student, Molecular & Cellular Physiology Laboratory





CNS page footer image
Website by Journeyman Systems