Welcome

Field education is a core component of Australian undergraduate and graduate Social Work courses. Field education is based on a philosophy that students learn best by doing and that learning should take place in a workplace environment.  In the Field Education program students are required to complete two placements, each for 70 days duration. Placements take place in the third and fourth year of the Bachelor of Social Work program and in the first and second years of the Masters of Social Work.

The learning that occurs during placement is supervised by qualified social workers who support students to integrate social work theory into practice and develop the skills, values and knowledge to work effectively in contemporary social work settings. Placements are designed to provide students with learning opportunities in different practice settings (e.g. child protection, aged care, disability), in varied practice methodologies (e.g. counselling, group work, community development, social policy, research) and with different client groups in accordance with the Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW) Education and Accreditation Standards (2013) for Field Education.

Before considering enrolling for a BSW or MSW degree it is important to read the Inherent Requirements of the MSW and BSW.

Field Education Staff

The Field Education program is staffed by a highly experienced team of Field Education Coordinators whose role is to develop placements and liaise with agencies and field educators, contribute to student and field educator learning and monitor and assess students on placement.

For all general enquiries regarding Social Work placements, please contact us on swplacements@flinders.edu.au

Topic Coordinators

Contact details

Topic Coordinator
Azmiri Mian
SOAD 9107 - First Placement
SOAD 9208 - Final Placement

azmiri.mian@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 2934

Topic Coordinator
Dr Kate Seymour
SOAD 3102 - Field Education 1

kate.seymour@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 5973

Topic Coordinator
Dr Helen McLaren
SOAD 4007 - Field Education 2

helen.mclaren@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 3025

Field Education Staff
Field Education Manager
Mary Duncan

mary.duncan@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 5653

Field Education Coordinator
Janine Harrison

janine.harrison@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 2253

Field Education Coordinator
Luke Roberts

luke.roberts@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 2977

Field Education Coordinator
Ilektra Zabanias

Ilektra.zabanias@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 5681

Field Education Coordinator
Andrea Tschoner

andrea.tschoner@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 7681

Field Education Coordinator
Belinda Wheeler

belinda.wheeler@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 7832

Field Education Coordinator
Kerry Hoare

kerry.hoare@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 2654

Field Education Coordinator
Libby Kirkbride

libby.kirkbride@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 7956

Field Education Coordinator
Mick Piotto

michael.piotto@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 2027

Field Education - Work Integrated Learning Administration

Work Integrated Learning Support Officer
Anthea D'Aloia

anthea.daloia@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 3928

Work Integrated Learning Support Officer
Heather Muirhead

heather.muirhead@flinders.edu.au

(08) 8201 2530