Terms of Reference

In accordance with policy established by Academic Senate and funding allocations determined from time to time by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and the Strategic Research Advisory Committee, the Scholarships Committee will foster and encourage postgraduate research in the University by undertaking the following:

  1. Determining the award of postgraduate scholarships.
  2. Distributing such other funds for postgraduate student support as may be available from time to time.
  3. Monitoring the progress of scholarship holders and approving extensions to scholarships as appropriate.
  4. Proposing to Academic Senate, through the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), changes to the conditions of award of existing scholarships and to policy relating to postgraduate scholarships.
  5. Forward to the Chair of the Academic Senate by 30 June each year a Report on its activities for the preceding 12 months.


Chairperson appointed by the Vice-Chancellor

  • Assoc Prof Murk Bottema

Representatives of each of the four Faculties

  • Assoc Prof Malcolm Bond - Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Dr Peter Anderson - Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Assoc Prof Kate Douglas - Faculty of Education, Humanities and Law
  • Prof Jason McCarley - Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences


Meeting dates for 2016

  • 25 February
  • 17 March
  • 28 April
  • 9 June
  • 11 August (mid year FURS and FSERA)
  • 20 October (IPRS and FIPRS)
  • 17 November
  • 8 December (main round APA, FURS and FSERA)


Contact the Secretary

Tracey Kohl

Team Leader - Student Finance Services

Student Finance

Phone: 8201 2759

Fax: 8201 2580

Email: askflinders@flinders.edu.au