Professor Peter Eastwood

FHMRI Director

College of Medicine and Public Health

place Flinders Medical Centre

Professor Peter Eastwood is a Matthew Flinders Fellow; Director of the Flinders Health and Medical Research Institute (FHMRI) and Dean (Research), College of Medicine and Public Health (CMPH). He commenced both roles in November 2020.

Professor Eastwood has made significant contributions to research and leadership on sleep disorders and chronic lung disease. He was the Director of The Raine Study, Deputy Director of the Institute for Respiratory Health and inaugural Director of the Centre for Sleep Science at the University of Western Australia.

Professor Eastwood collaborates with national and international institutes including University of Queensland, University of Sydney, Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, University of Newcastle, University of Oxford, Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Francisco, University of Pennsylvania and Karolinska Institute. He has authored over 200 papers and is an inventor on 4 patents.

Professor Eastwood is the Asia/Australasia representative on the World Sleep Society Governing Council; the immediate Past President of the Australasian Sleep Association; the Immediate Past Editor in Chief of Respirology, the major Asian Pacific Respiratory Journal; current Deputy Editor of Respirology Case Reports and an Editorial Board member of the Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport. He is currently a member of several Industry Advisory Boards.


1995   PhD   University of Western Australia, Perth, Western Australia.

1986   BSc   Lock Haven University, Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, U.S.A.

Honours, awards and grants

2019    Fellow of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (FThorSoc)

2012    Fellow of the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology (FAPSR)

2011    Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists. Mundipharma ANZCA Research Fellowship Award for 2011 (Hillman, Walsh, Platt, Eastwood).

2009    National Health and Medical Research Council (Australia). Ten of the Best Research Projects.

2008    National Health and Medical Research Council (Australia) Senior Research Fellowship. 

2004    National Health and Medical Research Council (Australia) R Douglas Wright Career Development Award. A nationally competitive fellowship tenable for five years in Australia.

Key responsibilities

Professor, College of Medicine & Public Health and Matthew Flinders Fellow.

Dean of Research, College of Medicine & Public Health.

Director, Flinders Health & Medical Research Institute.