Australian Federation of University Women - South Australia Incorporated (AFUW-SA Inc.) Trust Fund :Diamond Jubilee Bursary

Opening Date: 01-01-2020   Closing Date: 15-04-2020  

For women, who are Australian citizens or permanent residents, enrolled in a postgraduate Masters degree (by research or including a thesis) at a South Australian university.


  • Women students who are Australian citizens or permanent residents;
  • Must be studying at a South Australian University for a postgraduate award which is classified at Master’s Degree level. This must be by research or include a thesis component;
  • Must have completed at least six months full time equivalent of their masters program;
  • Must have a good undergraduate academic record;
  • Must not be in full time paid employment or on fully paid leave during the tenure of the Scholarship;
  • Must not have received a scholarship or award in the same category in 2019.

Selection criteria

Selection of winners is based primarily on academic merit, but also on the importance of the purpose for which the scholarship will be used to the progress or completion of the degree, on referees’ report, on financial need as well as community activities and other interests.


The amount of each scholarship will not exceed $3,000 but may be less depending on requirements of the successful applicant/s, if more than one scholarship is offered based on applicant rankings and funds available. No one will be awarded more than one scholarship in any one year. In exceptional circumstances the trustees of the AFUW-SA Inc. Trust Fund reserve the right not to award a scholarship.

Source of funds

Until 2009 funds for these scholarships were raised annually by the Academic Hoods and Gowns Hiring Service run on a voluntary basis by the trustees, members of The AFUW-SA Inc. (later GWSA Inc.) and friends. Funds are now sourced from investments, bequests and donations.

Application forms can be downloaded from the AFUW-SA website listed below.

Your application must reach the Trust Fund's secretarial service by the deadline. 

Scholarship Type: postgraduate, academic merit, financial, commencing, continuing,