AusIMM/Playford Trust Honours Scholarship :AusIMM/Playford Trust Honours Scholarship

Opening Date: 13-08-2019   Closing Date: 15-09-2019  


The Playford Trust in collaboration with the Adelaide Branch of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM), offer three Minerals Industry scholarships annually.

Founded in 1893, the AusIMM provides leadership, support and development opportunities to minerals industry professionals engaged in all facets of the global minerals sector.  It represents over 14,000 members drawn from all sections of the industry and includes Mining, Geological, Geotechnical, Chemical, Metallurgical, Environmental, and Health & Safety Engineers & Scientists.

The AusIMM is supported by a network of branches, student chapters and societies in Australasia and internationally.


Each scholarship is valued at $9000 for one year. 

To be eligible for consideration students must:
  • Be proceeding into Honours in Geoscience, be in 4th year in Mining Engineering or 4th year Chemical Engineering(Minerals Processing) 
  • Be Australian citizens or a holder of a permanent resident visa, and are South Australian residents who are likely to spend a significant part of their career in South Australia or are likely to provide a benefit to the State.
  • Be a are high achiever, with an excellent undergraduate academic record.
  • Be of good character with preference given to students that display leadership potential. 
  • Be considering further studies/research post-Honours 
  • Be enroled full time in the Bachelor of Science Honours degree, the Mining Engineering or the Chemical Engineering (Mineral Processing) degree with major studies or a research project relevant to the minerals industry and apply for Student Membership of the AusIMM.

Applications for these scholarships are made through the AusIMM Education Endowment Fund (EEF) Scholarship Program. Recipients of AusIMM/Playford Trust Minerals Industry Scholarships are selected via this EEF Program process.

Scholarship applications for 2020 close 15 September 2019.


For information on how to apply, please refer to:


Scholarship Type: undergraduate, honours, academic merit,