Watch the 3 Minute Thesis Finalists

We've added videos of each finalist's presentation to the Office of Graduate Research YouTube Channel.

Visit our special page of the finalist's presentations. Re-live the excitement. Get inspired for next year!

Watch all the presentations here.

Congratulations to 3 Minute Thesis Winners!

Well done to all of the excellent presenters who truly excelled themselves on the day.


Ayla Orang - Medicine


Tiffany Knight - Drama


People's Choice Award

Sarah Marshall - Environment

 ... and our hard-working judges. (L-R Dr Sean Williams,
Hon. Dr Susan Close MP and Professor Tara Brabazon.)




The Office of Graduate Research is very proud to host the 3 Minute Thesis with such a fine calibre of presenters from all over the University.

Thank you also to special guests Vice-Chancellor Professor Colin Stirling and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Resarch Professor Robert Saint.

 (L-R: Vice-Chancellor Professor Colin Stirling, Ebony Liu, Annettee Mazzone, Shevaugn Johnson, Sarah Marshall, Sam Arman, Kailah Thorne, Ayla Orang, Tiffany Knight, Hon. Dr Susan Close MP, Dr Sean Williams, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research Professor Robert Saint, Dean of Graduate Research Professor Tara Brabazon.)

Check back to see the 2017 final presentations as they are uploaded!

Or watch the recorded stream HERE

University Final - Date announced

Stay tuned for the annoucement of our Celebrity Judges in Thursday's edition of GradNews!

Date: 1st of September
Time: 2:30pm
Location: Law Commerce Lecture Theatre 4

 Seats are limited.

Semi-Final - Results

Congratulations to all of our excellent presenters today!

The standard was very high and gives us great pleasure to announce the finalists who are through to the University Final below.


Shevaugn Johnson

Body Dysmophic Disorder
Runner-Up: Annette Mazzone
Mending the Heart … Breaking the Kidney
(Alphabetical order)
Sam Arman
Biological Sciences
Diets of Dead Kangaroos
  Tiffany Knight
Friendship and the ethics of performance
  Ebony Liu
Blindness from diabetes: Monthly treatment
  Sarah Marshall
Deciding the future of our mining environments
  Genevieve Oliver
Going Viral
  Ayla Orang
Metformin, microRNA and Cancer
  Kailah Thorn
Biological Sciences
Fossil origins of Australia's most iconic lizards

*One place-getter has informed the OGR that they are unable to attend the final, and the next highest scoring presenter will compete in the final. 

First time here? Read about the New Competition Structure and the 3 Minute Thesis rules.


Heat 2 Results are In

Congratulations to all the excellent presenters who took the stage to tell us about their research in 3 minutes.

This first round of finalists go through to the Semi-Final on the 27th of July.

Heat 2 Results

Winner: Ayla Orang
Runner-Up: Emma Beames
Place-getters: Pouya Baniasadi
  Kailah Thorn
  Miia Rahja
  Dhara Amin
  Siamek Mirzaei
  Mira Beknazarova
  Ebony Liu
  Sarah Kolajo

Wild Cards:

Karina Gutierrez

Sam Arman

Heat 1 Results


Winner: Annette Mazzone
Runner-Up: Tiffany Knight
Place-getters: Felix Piedade
  Shevaugn Johnson
  Shani Sniedze-Gregory
  Genevieve Oliver
  Bronwyn Lovell
  Sarah Marshall
Wild Card: Rohit Philip


Welcome to the 3MT 2017! This year, we've updated the competition and made a few changes:

  • We've updated the competition structure from the start to help Flinders students hone their presentations for a broader audience.
  • There are lots more practice sessions where you can get tips and advice. 
  • Three judges from separate Faculties now make up the panel for each round to further ensure a non-specicalist audience for your presentation.
  • In the First Round Heats, judges have the opportunity to give up to 2 Wildcards to competitors who didn't score in the top 8, but whose enthusiasm and potential they feel should be rewarded.

New Competition Structure

In 2017, we are streamlining the Flinders University competition. The Flinders 3MT is moving away from the School-Faculty-University structure towards a competition which aims to have students presenting their research to their cross-disciplinary peers right away. The competition runs as follows:

  1. First Round- Open Heat: All competitors register to compete [closed] and start here. There are two heats, and after registration, students will be divided between them to maintain an even mix of disciplines.
  2. Semi-Final: 16 winners (and up to four wildcards) from the First Round will compete for the top eight spots in the Final.
  3. University Final: 8 competitors give their presentations to celebrity judges, competing for the $2000 first prize ($1000 for runner-up, $500 for People's Choice).






First Round









The People's Choice Award at the University Final is voted for by the audience, and the winner gets $500! So come to the Final and support your colleagues!


About 3MT

Who can enter?

Students currently undertaking a research  higher degree (PhD by research). Enrolled students can enter at  any stage in their candidature. Graduates are not eligible.


  • A single static PowerPoint slide is permitted. No slide transitions, animations or 'movement' of any description are allowed. The slide is to be presented from the beginning of the oration.
  • No additional electronic media (e.g. sound and video files) are permitted.
  • No additional props (e.g. costumes, musical instruments, laboratory equipment) are permitted.
  • Presentations are limited to 3 minutes maximum and competitors exceeding 3 minutes are disqualified.
  • Presentations are to be spoken word (e.g. no poems, raps or songs).
  • Presentations are to commence from the stage.
  • Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts their presentation through either movement or speech.
  • The decision of the adjudicating panel is final.

Prizes will be awarded to the best entrants at Faculty/University level.

Judging Criteria

There are 3 criteria through which each three minute thesis presentation will be judged:

1. Communication style: was the thesis topic and its significance  communicated in language appropriate to an intelligent but  non-specialist audience

2. Comprehension: did the presentation help the audience understand the research?

3. Engagement: did the oration make the audience want to know more?

Each judge will score contestants on a numerical scale designed around the above criteria.