For information on scholarships, grants and other financial support, please review the information below:

Flinders University Student Finance Services

For a comprehensive list of available scholarships please contact Flinders University's Student Finance Services, (08) 8201 3143 or visit the University's Scholarships Website.

Scholarship List

Scholarships and grants are usually based on equity and/or academic merit and sometimes have conditions attached.  It is important to be aware that applications for some scholarships will need to be submitted the year before the scholarship is awarded.  Please note this Scholarship list does not include all available scholarships.

• The Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA) website provides information on numerous scholarships.

• The National Rural Health Alliance administers the Rural Australia Medical Undergraduate Scholarships (RAMUS) Scheme on behalf of the Department of Health and Ageing. The RAMUS Scheme assists selected students with a rural background to study medicine at university. In addition to their rural background, RAMUS scholarship holders are selected on the basis of financial need and demonstrated commitment to working in rural Australia in the future.The Scheme is aimed at attracting more doctors to rural and remote Australia.The RAMUS Scheme supports a total of 573 current scholarship holders. About 100 new scholarships are awarded each year through a competitive application round, to maintain the total of 573.

• The Medical Rural Bonded Scholarship (MRBS) Scheme offers 100 scholarships annually that are linked to extra places in medical schools. Students accepting the MRBS commit to working for six continuous years in a rural or remote area of Australia after completing their medical training as a specialist. The scholarship is worth over $23,000 a year, is tax free and is indexed annually.

• The Australian Medical Association offers the Indigneous People's Medical Scholarship. Applicants for this scholarship must be Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islanders. To be awarded a scholarship, applicants must be currently enrolled full time at an Australian Medical School, and have successfully completed at least their first year of medicine. However, students who are currently in their first year of medicine are eligible to apply. Applicants must also be eligible for ABSTUDY. A scholarship will not be awarded to an applicant who already holds another scholarship. Please note that it is the responsibility of applicants to seek advice from Centrelink, on how the scholarship payment may affect ABSTUDY or any other government payment. Applications close at the end of January for scholarships for that year.

• Australian Rotary Health fund Indigenous Health Scholarships . The program is a co-operative program between Australian Rotary Health, Rotary clubs, some State or Territory Governments and the Commonwealth Government. The object of the program is to provide a scholarship, which can be used to assist Indigenous students with their day-to-day expenses while they undertake a course in a wide range of health related professions. The scholarship is paid in addition to the Government Abstudy allowance. The value of each scholarship is $5,000 per year. A Rotary Club contributes $2,500 per year and the State or Commonwealth Government provides a similar amount.

• The NT Government Department of Health and Families offers Study Assistance Grants for people studying in a Health or Community Services related field. Applications are invited from individuals enrolling in, or currently undertaking, training and professional development activities through vocational Education and Training (VET), higher education and/or short courses in the Health and Community Services skills gap and workforce shortage areas. Applicants will need to demonstrate how their course of study will contribute to the provision of Health and Community Services in the NT.  Two Grant options are available:1. General Grants  2. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Grants.  For further information and application forms Email P& or Phone (08) 8922 7234.

• The NT Government Department of the Chief Minister are offering Study Scholarships for Women.  These scholarships are administered by Charles Darwin University (CDU) on behalf of the Office of Women's Policy. Applications are open from September each year.  The contact point at CDU is the Scholarships Officer on (08) 8946 6442.

Charles Darwin University has a Scholarship page.

• The Commonwealth Scholarships Program was introduced in 2004 to assist students from low socio-economic backgrounds, particularly those from rural and regional areas and Indigenous students, with costs associated with higher education. To be eligible applicants must be Australian citizens or holders of Australian permanent humanitarian visas.

• The Study in Australia Website offers a search function for scholarships.

Allied Health Scholarships

Services for Australian Rural and Remote Allied Health (SARRAH ) receives funding from the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing and other sources to manage scholarship programs supporting the rural and remote allied health workforce.