Professor Jamie Craig

Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor

College of Medicine and Public Health

place Flinders Medical Centre (6B:220.1)
GPO Box 2100, Adelaide 5001, South Australia

Professor of Ophthalmology
Director of the Flinders Centre for Ophthalmology, Eye and Vision Research
Chair and Academic Head of the Department of Ophthalmology
Flinders University College of Medicine and Public Health

Practising Consultant Ophthalmologist
NHMRC Senior Practitioner-Fellow

As Chair and Academic Head of the Department of Ophthalmology (ERA rank 5) at Flinders University and a Consultant Ophthalmologist, Professor Jamie Craig specialises in the care of patients with glaucoma, a leading cause of irreversible blindness. Professor Craig is a clinician-scientist and NHMRC Practitioner-Fellow, who translates laboratory-based research into clinical practice.

Having developed an exceptional track record in synergising clinical practice and laboratory-based research, Professor Craig’s pioneering work establishing the Australian and New Zealand Registry of Advanced Glaucoma has been critical to Australia leading the world in discovery and translation of glaucoma genetics. His clinical practice and ongoing leadership of the world’s largest glaucoma progression study enable significant translational outcomes to be achieved by more rational use of available tools, coupled with innovative concepts.

Honours, awards and grants


  • Shaffer Grant Award, Glaucoma Research Foundation, 2008
  • ARVO/Alcon Clinician Scientist Research Award, Association for Vision Research and Ophthalmology, 2008
  • Senior author, Best poster presentation annual RANZCO Scientific Meeting, 2006 & 2005
  • Pharmacia Award, Best presentation at FRANZCO Annual Scientific meeting, 2001
  • McBride-White Medal, Best presentation, Melbourne Ophthalmic Alumni meeting, Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital, 2000 & 1999
  • Ian Potter Travel Grant, Ian Potter Foundation, 1999
  • Glaucoma Research Foundation ARVO Travel Fellowship Grant, The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), 1997
  • Atkinson Scholarship, Pembroke College, Oxford, 1993
  • Junior Research Fellowship, Wolfson College, Oxford, 1993
  • Nuffield Dominions Medical Fellowship, University of Oxford, 1991
  • Reginal Walker Scholarship for Medical Research, University of Adelaide, 1991


  • Faulding/Royal Australian College of General Practitioner Student Prize for Community Medicine, 1990
  • Lister Medal for the student most distinguished in Clinical Surgery, University of Adelaide, 1989
  • Archibald Watson Prize, Candidate who shows the greatest merit in the Distinction Viva in Surgery, University of Adelaide, 1989
  • William Gardner Scholarship for Surgery, University of Adelaide, 1989
  • Frank S Hone Memorial Prize, first place in the subject of Medicine, University of Adelaide, 1989
  • Everard Scholarship, first place in the final examinations, University of Adelaide, 1989
  • Ciba-Geigy Prize for the student who obtains the best results in the sixth year examination, University of Adelaide, 1989
  • Ian Furler Prize for Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Adelaide, 1988
  • Keith Sheridan Prize for the best overall performance in the 5th year examinations, University of Adelaide, 1988
  • The J B Cleland Prize for Pathology, University of Adelaide, 1987
  • Undergraduates Prize  Royal Australian College of Ophthalmologists, 1987
  • The Junior Roche Products Prize for Pharmacology, University of Adelaide, 1987


  • Fellow Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (FRANZCO), 2002