Professor Jonathan Craig

Vice President and Executive Dean & Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor

College of Medicine and Public Health

place Health Sciences (3.34)
GPO Box 2100, Adelaide 5001, South Australia

Professor Jonathan Craig is an internationally recognised clinician and scientist and holds the position of Vice President and Executive Dean of the College of Medicine & Public Health.

Professor Craig has made a significant contribution to the clinical research landscape in the prevention, identification, management and treatment of chronic kidney disease, particularly in relation to children and in Indigenous communities.

He has led the formation of state, national and international networks to conduct high-quality, relevant trials in children and has been instrumental to the development and implementation of best-practice methods and guidelines relating to chronic kidney disease in Australia and globally.

Professor Craig’s many current advisory roles include member of the National Health and Medical Research Council’s Health Translation Advisory Committee, the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee, Medical Services Advisory Committee and Commonwealth Department of Health Life Savings Drug Program.

He is a past member of the WHO expert review panel for global strategy and plan of action on public health, innovation and intellectual property, a past chairman of the Steering Group of the Cochrane Collaboration, and a past member of the Expert Advisory Group for the Structural Review of NHMRC’s Grant Program.


MBChB, DipCH, FRACP, M Med (Clin Epi), PhD, FAHMS

Honours, awards and grants

Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor

Fellow, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

International Distinguished Medal of the National Kidney Foundation (of the US), to honour the achievement of individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of kidney disease, and to those who extend the goals of National Kidney Foundation.

‘Antecedents of Renal Disease in Aboriginal children’ named one of Ten of the Best Research Projects, National Health and Medical Research Council

TJ Neale Award for Outstanding Contribution to Nephrological Science, Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology

Kidney Health Australia Clinical Research Award

Honorary Membership of the Italian Society of Nephrology

The Royal Alexandra Hospital for Children Young Investigator’s Award

Sir Thaddeus McNaughton Surgical Prize